Bowzer the Aussie Cattle Dog

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bowzer the Aussie Cattle Dog

Good Morning everyone; and thank you for allowing me into this group. I am new to treating diabetes in my dog. My Aussie Cattle Dog, Bowzer was diagnosed about four weeks ago. He is 11 years old, has a host of anxieties and compulsion issues. Long story short is I was told he is diabetic when I brought him to the vet while observing his excessive drinking. His sugar during that visit was 598. I was feeding him Earthborn Holistic Grain Free Weight Control diet. I was told to start out with 13 units of Novolin N twice a day. My vet told me I didn't have to check his glucose, but to bring him back a week later. At that time he was upped to 15 units twice a day. I did this for another week, and someone gave me their glucose monitor. So, I have since been checking his levels. I thought a change in his food might be a step in the right direction, and so I started a slow change from Earthborn to Merrick Grain Free Chicken/Sweet Potato which is what he was on a while back (do to the carbs in both foods). Well since then, I cannot seem to get his glucose below 250 with food and insulin, it seems to stay steady at that level 250-290 like that. Vet upped to 19 units twice a day, but still hasn't changed. Does anyone have any suggestions for me?...Can it be the Merrick that I am in the process of switching to? Anyone ever use either of these two foods? Thanks for your help. I seem to be a one man show when it comes to treating Bowzer. Vet seems way to busy to help. Thanks again
    Bowzer is an 11 year old Aussie Cattle Dog. He was diagnosed in June 2014. His diet consists of Earthborn Holistic Grain Free Weight Control/Merrick Grain Free Chicken & Sweet Potato; teaspoon of pumpkin; teaspoon of canned Merrick. Uses Novolin N.

Re: Help/New to this glucose game