Diabetes in Dogs: The k9diabetes.com Forum

Go Back   Diabetes in Dogs: The k9diabetes.com Forum > Diabetes Discussion: Your Dog

Diabetes Discussion: Your Dog Anything related to your diabetic dog.

Old 07-03-2010, 06:21 PM

Default Shots at the kennel

We need to be away tomorrow from 10am until 10pm. We don't trust leaving Rudy alone for 12 hours so we arranged to put him up in a kennel for the day and pick him up at 10am on Monday. The kennel advised that they will feed him his Hills W/D and give him his 6 units of Insulin tomorrow night ($10 extra) and we will take care of his food and morning shot after we pick him up at 10:00am on Monday. Anyone have experience with a kennel not following through or have any advice such as a phone call at 7pm to be sure he received his shot?
Old 07-03-2010, 06:46 PM

Arrow Re: Shots at the kennel

Hi Don,

I have no experience with needing to kennel Kumbi while away myself. A lot depends on the kennel and staff. Have you used this kennel before? Do YOU have a lot of confidence in the staff?

And you checked to make sure somebody (who will be on duty) is competent to give the shot?

If so, the arrangements sound pretty good for me, except I wonder if you could pick Rudy up at 9 a.m. Monday instead of 10 - might stabilize the timing of his food and insulin Monday morning.

Maybe I'd talk over with the staff what to do if something goes fishy with Rudy - say, not eating, or only eating half his meal. If you get such things squared away beforehand, and you're confident in the staff, I think it should be okay. All things being equal!

If things were to go wrong, I'd consider, what could go wrong that would actively endanger Rudy. And the only thing I can think of there is if Rudy doesn't eat and they inject him anyway, or if they get the dose wrong or something. I guess I'd demonstrate, or mark a syringe (or two?) at the correct dose (put a mark on the barrel).