Diabetes in Dogs: The k9diabetes.com Forum
 

Go Back   Diabetes in Dogs: The k9diabetes.com Forum > Diabetes Discussion: Your Dog

Diabetes Discussion: Your Dog Anything related to your diabetic dog.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #101  
Old 05-24-2010, 06:51 AM
Tikobird's Avatar
Tikobird Tikobird is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 239
Default Re: Dozer Newly Diagnosed Lab

Hey Kevin - glad to see Ozzi is doing better! So is Dozer however I am now leaning towards the strips going bad & not a hypo event... On one of the afternoon pokes yesterday I tried a different meter & got a reading of 417 even though my normal meter was reading E-1 error still. I opened a new bottle of strips & have NOT had that error since I plan on calling Accu Check to talk to them about this - if it happens again I'm off that meter! It was weird though cause I stuck myself & got a reading....did a control with the stuff they give you & got a reading- so I don't really understand it. He showed no signs of hypo yesterday and his readings the rest of the day (the few I did cause we had unexpected company show up) were all in his normal range. This morning his fasting reading at 6:50 AM was 280. He is due to eat in 45 minutes & I'll stick him again but he seems good.

Hope Ozzi is feeling better today as well. Uncertaintity is a horrible feeling when you are dealing with the well being of a loved one (human or otherwise). I believed he was going hypo and I was just so unsure of what to do. Thank goodness for this forum and for Peggy being on line - it is so great to have a "Virtual Hand Holder" during times like that!
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 05-24-2010, 07:02 AM
ozzi's Avatar
ozzi ozzi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ipswich, MA
Posts: 619
Default Re: Dozer Newly Diagnosed Lab

Hey Lori,

I'm so happy to hear that Dozer is doing well today! So that's an interesting possibility regarding the strips, and a good thing to keep in mind if it the same thing happens again. I don't know why you would get normal ranges with the controls and with testing on yourself, but get errors with him, but it could be possibly explained by the fact that dogs' red cells are different from ours and the meters are made for humans, so maybe that was a factor. Another reason could be if you didn't get enough of a drop of blood on the strip, but I doubt that happened, since I know you have been doing this for a while! It will be interesting if Accu Check sheds any light on this...let us know!

In the meantime, even if it was a false alarm, YOU experienced a hypo with Dozer, and honestly, it's good to get through the first one! The "practice" makes it easier to deal more calmly with another one if it should happen...sort of like a fire drill!! LOL, but it's true!

I know exactly what you mean by "virtual hand holding," and Peggy is one of the people here whom I rely on, in addition to Patty, Natalie, Carol, Eileen, and many, many others all of whom are great hand holders!!
Kevin
__________________
Ozzi, Dalmatian/Australian Cattle Dog mix, 12/03/1996 - 08/15/2010. Diabetes, blind from cataracts, cauda equina syndrome, and arthritis of the spine and knees. Daddy loves you Ozzi

Last edited by ozzi; 05-24-2010 at 07:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 05-24-2010, 07:09 AM
Patty's Avatar
Patty Patty is offline
Senior Member and Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Central CO
Posts: 8,324
Default Re: Dozer Newly Diagnosed Lab

Glad to hear Dozer is ok and Peggy was here to help, Lori. That's nice you had another meter to compare to later yesterday. I would definitely call Accuchek about the errors if you are getting a reading on another meter and not your current one.

Take care!
Patty
__________________
Patty and Ali 13.5yrs 47lbs diagnosed May '08 Ali earned her wings October 27, 2012, 4 months after diagnosis of a meningioma ~ Time is precious ~
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 05-24-2010, 07:42 AM
Tikobird's Avatar
Tikobird Tikobird is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 239
Default Re: Dozer Newly Diagnosed Lab

9:30AM reading was 329 I will certainly post what Accu-Chek has to say re the E-1 errors yesterday.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 05-24-2010, 02:39 PM
Tikobird's Avatar
Tikobird Tikobird is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 239
Default Re: Dozer Newly Diagnosed Lab

So my mother-in-law just sent me a Bayer CONTOUR meter & about 200 strips that don't expire for a year. I just tested Dozer with my normal Accu-Chek meter & the Contour using the same drop of blood. Accu-Chek showed 400 & Contour showed 351. Anyone have any experience with the Contour? 200 test strips is surely making me want to use it but not at Dozers expense if you know what I mean.......I have always used the Accu-Chek so my #'s even if they are off, they are consistent

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 05-24-2010, 02:55 PM
peggy0's Avatar
peggy0 peggy0 is offline
Senior Member and Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Dozer Newly Diagnosed Lab

Here is a post that Natalie put out a while back:

A recent study of six blood glucose meters reflects favorably on the OneTouch Ultra.

Quote:
ACVIM 2008 Abstract

Evaluation of Six Portable Blood Glucose Meters in Dogs.
T. Cohen, R. Nelson, P. Kass, E. Feldman
School of Veterinary Medicine, University of California, Davis


The purpose of this study was to evaluate six portable blood glucose meters (PBGMs) - AlphaTrak, OneTouch, Elite XL, AccuChek, Precision, Contour - for use in dogs. One hundred fifty-eight venous blood samples were asayed for glucose using all PBGMs in randomized order and by a reference hexokinase method. Results from the PBGMs and reference hexokinase method (HM) were compared.


HM blood glucose concentrations ranged from 41 to 639 mg/dl. There was excellent correlation between PBGMs and HM results (table). Results were consistently low for 4 PBGMs compared with HM results. High and low results were common with the AlphaTrak. The difference in results between PBGMs and HM increased as blood glucose concentrations increased. Difference in results between PBGM and HM were significantly (p<0.0001) less for the AlphaTrak and OneTouch and significantly (p<0.01) higher for the Contour compared with other PBGMs. Problems with correct identification of hypoglycemia (<70 mg/dl), normoglycemia (70-120 mg/dl), and hyperglycemia (>200 mg/dl) varied between PBGMs (table).


Percent Incorrect from Reference Range
AlphaTrak -- 18
OneTouch -- 21
EliteXL -- 45
AccuChek -- 45
Precision -- 49
Contour -- 73


Results of this study support use of the AlphaTrak and OneTouch glucose meters based on significantly closer results with HM.
Edit/Delete Message
__________________
Forbin, miss you every day. See you at the bridge Buddy.
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 05-24-2010, 03:30 PM
Taylor's Avatar
Taylor Taylor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan's Upper Peninsula
Posts: 50
Default Re: Dozer Newly Diagnosed Lab

My Bayer Contour meter reads 75 points lower than lab value. I have two of the one touch minis but I really like the contour meter better. Pat
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 05-24-2010, 04:32 PM
Tikobird's Avatar
Tikobird Tikobird is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 239
Default Re: Dozer Newly Diagnosed Lab

Thanks for the input. I have 2 mini ultra touch meters brand new...well except for yesterday when I wanted to double check my accu chek. Maybe I'll use up all the strips for all the meters I have & then move onti the mini's..........I would rather be as close to real as possible.

Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 05-24-2010, 04:33 PM
ozzi's Avatar
ozzi ozzi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ipswich, MA
Posts: 619
Default Re: Dozer Newly Diagnosed Lab

I use the Bayer Contour for Ozzi, and I love it because it's so easy to use and you don't have to code it beforehand. It also provides you with every value (even low ones) and the only time I have gotten an error message is if I didn't get enough blood for the meter to read. In an earlier post, you mentioned that you got a particular error code this weekend that indicated the sugar was too low, but it didn't display the value. I know that others here do not like the Contour because they have found it isn't as accurate as other meters. I need to check it against Ozzi's blood when it's taken at the vet and sent for analysis so I can determine how much it is off.
Kevin
__________________
Ozzi, Dalmatian/Australian Cattle Dog mix, 12/03/1996 - 08/15/2010. Diabetes, blind from cataracts, cauda equina syndrome, and arthritis of the spine and knees. Daddy loves you Ozzi
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 05-24-2010, 04:58 PM
Tikobird's Avatar
Tikobird Tikobird is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 239
Default Re: Dozer Newly Diagnosed Lab

Hey Kevin - I did like the fact I didn't have to code the contour but that isn't really a big deal if the numbers are more accurate. I also like that it used a tiny amount of blood. But if my Accu Chek is off by "about" 45 & then the Contour is off from that # by another 50, that is a BIG number now to be off...if his sugar is reading in mid 400's then it is really near or over 500 and can be a false security blanket. Same goes for lower numbers....if I get a reading on the Accu Chek of mid to low 100's (I WISH) it could be much lower without realizing it.

Boy - the more I learn the more I realize how much I just don't know!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:45 AM.


Disclaimer -- The content on this site is provided for informational and educational purposes only. While we make every effort to present information that is accurate and reliable, the views expressed here are not meant to be a substitute for the advice provided by a licensed veterinarian. Please consult with your veterinarian for specific advice concerning the medical condition or treatment of your pet and before administering any medication or pursuing any course of treatment that you may read about on this site.

The views and opinions expressed by contributors to this forum are strictly their own and do not necessarily reflect the opinions and views of the owners, administrators, or moderators of this forum and the k9diabetes.com website.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2009, 2010 k9diabetes.com. All rights reserved.