Diabetes in Dogs: The k9diabetes.com Forum
 

Go Back   Diabetes in Dogs: The k9diabetes.com Forum > Diabetes Discussion: Your Dog

Diabetes Discussion: Your Dog Anything related to your diabetic dog.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2014, 05:58 PM
parisa parisa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 20
Arrow Quick question on coding AlphaTrak

Hi all,

I just have a quick question for the people who use Freestyle Lite strips in their Alpha Trak 2. I tried to do this, however when I was entering in the code it would only let me select even numbers 2,4,6,etc... when I needed to enter in 17.

Has anyone had this happen to them?

What I did was stick a strip in, then tried to program the code in so I could run a control test with the different strips.

My new bottle of Alpha Trak 2 strips came in the mail and hour later, so I just used them instead.

Any ideas??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-19-2014, 12:16 AM
k9diabetes's Avatar
k9diabetes k9diabetes is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Northern California
Posts: 11,261
Default Re: Quick question on coding AlphaTrak

I copied this into a new thread so it would be seen more quickly. Will let the folks who are using the FS lite strips with AlphaTrak answer your question.

Natalie
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-19-2014, 12:25 AM
CraigM's Avatar
CraigM CraigM is offline
Senior Member and Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 6,016
Default Re: Quick question on coding AlphaTrak

I wrote this in your main thread yesterday evening:

What's the code for your new AlphaTrak test strips? I'd use that "code" for your first try with the FreeStyle Lite test strips (ignore the code on the FreeStyle Lite container). That's what I do and so far the FSL & AT strips have read within about 10 points of each other. When you compare the strips, let me know the results

Craig
_
__________________
Annie was an 18 pound Lhasa Apso that crossed the rainbow bridge on 10-5-17. She was nearly 17 years old and diabetic for 9 years.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-19-2014, 06:08 AM
DaisysMom DaisysMom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 119
Default Re: Quick question on coding AlphaTrak

Would this work for both the Alpha Trak and Alpha Trak 2?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-19-2014, 08:08 AM
CraigM's Avatar
CraigM CraigM is offline
Senior Member and Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 6,016
Default Re: Quick question on coding AlphaTrak

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaisysMom View Post
Would this work for both the Alpha Trak and Alpha Trak 2?
The FreeStyle Lite test strips would "work" (turn-on) in the old grey colored AlphaTrak meter, but I haven't run any tests. After breakfast, I'll search for my old AlphaTrak, and if the battery is still good, I'll try to run some comparisons.

Of course, it would be best for you to run your own side-by-side test. If I remember correctly, the data sheet that comes with the new AlphaTrak2 test strips indicate the grey meter should be coded to "7" regardless of what is printed on the container, and that the displayed number would be off by a bit? We will see how it works in an hour.

Craig
__________________
Annie was an 18 pound Lhasa Apso that crossed the rainbow bridge on 10-5-17. She was nearly 17 years old and diabetic for 9 years.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-19-2014, 08:53 AM
CraigM's Avatar
CraigM CraigM is offline
Senior Member and Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 6,016
Default Re: Quick question on coding AlphaTrak

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
The FreeStyle Lite test strips would "work" (turn-on) in the old grey colored AlphaTrak meter, but I haven't run any tests. After breakfast, I'll search for my old AlphaTrak, and if the battery is still good, I'll try to run some comparisons.

Of course, it would be best for you to run your own side-by-side test. If I remember correctly, the data sheet that comes with the new AlphaTrak2 test strips indicate the grey meter should be coded to "7" regardless of what is printed on the container, and that the displayed number would be off by a bit? We will see how it works in an hour.

Craig
I was wrong! The FSL strip did not turn on my old grey AlphaTrak meter. Got an error message. (Or was this a problem with the meter itself?)

Strange, because years ago I did use the older style FSL strips in the old AlphaTrak meter. The design of both the AlphaTrak & FreeStyle Lite strips have changed over the years.

Just for giggles, I ran both strips in the new purple AlphaTrak2:
AlphaTrak2 strip = 293
FSL strip = 313
Close enough at these high numbers. Annie was understandably a little high because she had her breakfast just a little over an hour earlier.

Craig
__________________
Annie was an 18 pound Lhasa Apso that crossed the rainbow bridge on 10-5-17. She was nearly 17 years old and diabetic for 9 years.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Disclaimer -- The content on this site is provided for informational and educational purposes only. While we make every effort to present information that is accurate and reliable, the views expressed here are not meant to be a substitute for the advice provided by a licensed veterinarian. Please consult with your veterinarian for specific advice concerning the medical condition or treatment of your pet and before administering any medication or pursuing any course of treatment that you may read about on this site.

The views and opinions expressed by contributors to this forum are strictly their own and do not necessarily reflect the opinions and views of the owners, administrators, or moderators of this forum and the k9diabetes.com website.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2009, 2010 k9diabetes.com. All rights reserved.