Diabetes in Dogs: The k9diabetes.com Forum
 

Go Back   Diabetes in Dogs: The k9diabetes.com Forum > Diabetes Discussion: Your Dog

Diabetes Discussion: Your Dog Anything related to your diabetic dog.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-31-2015, 09:43 PM
used2bkey used2bkey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Default new with Alphatrak code question

Hi! My pug Abbee has been diabetic for years. I recently had to but new test strips for the Alphatrak (original). I was told in correspondence that the alphatrak 2 strip would work. My question is this: is the code really 36 for dogs as it stays on the vial for the strips? !
thanks for the help!
Abbee's mom
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2015, 10:14 PM
CraigM's Avatar
CraigM CraigM is offline
Senior Member and Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 6,011
Default Re: new with Alphatrak code question

Welcome to the forum

I think the data sheet that comes with the AlphaTrak2 test strips say to code the old (grey) meter to 7 if using the new strips in the old meter.

You might consider getting a new AlphaTrak2 meter since the price has really dropped in the past few months. $55 on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/AlphaTRAK-Bloo...ing+system+kit

I'll look for the data sheet in my files.


Tell us more about your pup.

Craig
__________________
Annie was an 18 pound Lhasa Apso that crossed the rainbow bridge on 10-5-17. She was nearly 17 years old and diabetic for 9 years.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-31-2015, 10:27 PM
CraigM's Avatar
CraigM CraigM is offline
Senior Member and Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 6,011
Default Re: new with Alphatrak code question

Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
Welcome to the forum

I think the data sheet that comes with the AlphaTrak2 test strips say to code the old (grey) meter to 7 if using the new strips in the old meter.

You might consider getting a new AlphaTrak2 meter since the price has really dropped in the past few months. $55 on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/AlphaTRAK-Bloo...ing+system+kit

I'll look for the data sheet in my files.


Tell us more about your pup.

Craig


Yep, just opened a box of AlphaTrak2 strips and the the chart in step 1 (setup) says to code the original (grey) AlphaTrak to 7 when using AlphaTrak 2 strips. I suppose this will provide "close" readings, but best to get a new AlphaTrak2 if possible.
__________________
Annie was an 18 pound Lhasa Apso that crossed the rainbow bridge on 10-5-17. She was nearly 17 years old and diabetic for 9 years.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2015, 03:15 AM
used2bkey used2bkey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Default Re: new with Alphatrak code question

That's what I thought, but then the vial said 36 for dogs and 38 for cats. I am definitely thinking about purchasing the 2.
Thanks so much for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-01-2015, 03:20 AM
used2bkey used2bkey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Default Re: new with Alphatrak code question

That's what I thought, but then the vial said 36 for dogs and 38 for cats. I am definitely thinking about purchasing the 2.

Abbee is a 13 year old pug. Shes blind because her diabwtes went undiscovered when she was wit my ex. She's been doing really well for quite a while and then her blood sugars went really low... so we're doing lots of monitoring and trying to figure what's going on.
Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2015, 06:50 PM
Ann Renee L. Ann Renee L. is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 239
Default Re: new with Alphatrak code question

The grey Alpha Trak glucometer, must be set to code 7 when you are using the Alpha 2 strips.Also,you must add ten percent to your reading.
This information was given to me by a customer rep at Abbot(the company that makes Alpha Trak and other human glucometers).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-02-2015, 08:39 PM
Riliey and Mo's Avatar
Riliey and Mo Riliey and Mo is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,714
Default Re: new with Alphatrak code question

I dunno about adding 10% seems a lot

I,d compare the two. alpha track and alphatrack2 with alphatrack2 strips using the same blood sample. this will give you an accurate animal reading.

try setting code 7 for a test then 6. I used code 36 and I now use code 6 with the alphatrack2. I also use the Freestyle lite strips in the 2. there cheaper and accurate. comparisons with your personal testings on your dog.

testing is fun
__________________
Riliey . aka Ralphy, Alice, Big Boy
20 lb male 17 yrs. black cockapoo, dx Apr 2012 . 5 1\2 yrs diabetic. 2002 to 2017
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-02-2015, 08:47 PM
CraigM's Avatar
CraigM CraigM is offline
Senior Member and Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 6,011
Default Re: new with Alphatrak code question

....or just follow the instructions on the data sheet and set the AlphaTrak to 7.

Craig
__________________
Annie was an 18 pound Lhasa Apso that crossed the rainbow bridge on 10-5-17. She was nearly 17 years old and diabetic for 9 years.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-15-2015, 01:36 AM
Lieder2 Lieder2 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Oregon
Posts: 19
Default Re: new with Alphatrak code question

As I am learning about my fur baby's diabetes this is very overwhelming! Back to the books for me!

Last edited by Lieder2; 04-15-2015 at 02:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Disclaimer -- The content on this site is provided for informational and educational purposes only. While we make every effort to present information that is accurate and reliable, the views expressed here are not meant to be a substitute for the advice provided by a licensed veterinarian. Please consult with your veterinarian for specific advice concerning the medical condition or treatment of your pet and before administering any medication or pursuing any course of treatment that you may read about on this site.

The views and opinions expressed by contributors to this forum are strictly their own and do not necessarily reflect the opinions and views of the owners, administrators, or moderators of this forum and the k9diabetes.com website.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2009, 2010 k9diabetes.com. All rights reserved.