Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions about Humalog

Hello Folks,
    It is my first time posting here and I am looking for other peoples experience with Humalog.
    My dog is a 13 yr old Boston Terrier who also has meggaesophagus and EPI (exocrine pancreatic insufficiency). She currently is on Honest kitchen Force food which is high protein low fiber for her EPI, It is also a consistency that slips down her throat nicely for the meggae. She stays upright after feeding for 15 min. to be sure all the food makes it to her belly. Because of these other two conditions changing her food isn't an option.
    The problem I am having with her is due to (I believe) the enzymes predigesting the food so that she goes quite high and then stays there for upto 5-6 hrs. This is a very consistent pattern with her. I have tried giving her the human enzyme creon to see if it would help the situation, but it hasn't.
    I have gotten a script from my vet for the Humalog and will be starting to use that soon.
    A typical pattern for Ruby would be starting in the 200s for a fasting and then going as high as 300 additional points to get to a 500 and not starting to come down for 5 hrs.
    Her usual dose of NPH is 2U. The vet and i discussed starting very conservatively with the humalog at 1/10U. I plan to wait a 1/2 hr before giving the humalog and then testing every 1/2 hr to see how it is affecting her.
    I am reading the book Using Insulin and would greatly appreciate input.
    Thanks, Tara
    Tara in honor of Ruby.
    She was a courageous Boston Terrier who marched right on through diabetes, megaesophagus, and EPI until 14.
    Lucky for both of us we found each other. I'd do it all again girly.

Re: Questions about Humalog

Tara, sorry I cannot help with answers, but I would like to welcome you and Ruby and assure you that the 'experts' here will respond to your questions!

Welcome and Boston Terriers are so cute!

Comment